MINUTES OF MEETING

INDIAN ACADEMY OF BIOMEDICAL SCIENCES (IABS)

MINUTES OF THE 13th ANNUAL GENERAL BODY MEETING HELD ON 24.02.2024 at 5.30 PM

Venue: Auditorium, AIIMS, Patna

Members Present:

- 1. Prof. Hari S. Sharma, Founder President- in the chair
- 2. Dr. B.S.S. Rao, Bangalore, President
- 3. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi, Secretary General, Lucknow
- 4. Prof. Najmul Islam, Aligarh
- 5. Prof. Moinuddin, Aligarh
- 6. Dr. Vijay Kumar Kutala, Hyderabad
- 7. Prof. Jyotdep Kaur, Chandigarh
- 8. Prof. Indu Verma, Chandigarh
- 9. Dr. Sukhes Mukerjee, Bhopal
- 10. Prof. Farzana Mahdi, Lucknow
- 11. Prof. Seema Bhargava, New Delhi
- 12. Dr. Medha R, Pondicherry
- 13. Prof. Alpana Sharma, New Delhi
- 14. Prof. Khurseed Alam, Aligarh
- 15. Prof. Sadhana Sharma, Patna
- 16. Dr. Kamlakant Shukla, Jodhpur
- 17. Dr. Israr Ahmad Lucknow
- 18. Dr. M. Kaleem Ahmad, Lucknow
- 19. Dr. Shivani Pandey, Lucknow
- 20. Prof. Rajni Dawar, New Delhi
- 21. Dr. Snehsikita Swarnkar, Kolkata
- 22. Prof. Jagat R Kanwar, Bhopal
- 23. Dr. Ashok Kumar, Bhopal
- 24. Dr. Harshvardhan Singh, New Delhi
- 25. Dr. Wahid Ali, Lucknow
- 26. Dr. Sanjay Yadav, Raebareli
- 27. Dr. Shyam Prakash, New Delhi
- 28. Dr. Anibaran Ganguly, Deoghar
- 29. Prof. Jagadeesh Bayry, Palakkad
- 30. Dr. Taruna Madan, ICMR- New Delhi
- 31. Dr. Seshadri Reddy Varikasuvu, Deoghar
- 32. Dr. Ranjit Guha, Patna
- 33. Prof. Syed Shadab Raza, Lucknow
- 34. Dr. Gyanendra Kumar Sonkar, Lucknow

- 1. The meeting was called in order and Prof. Savita Yadav, Vice President in the absence of Prof. AS Bhatia, President welcomed the Hon'ble members to the 13th Annual General Body meeting. She said that the Academy has made commendable progress during last few years due to the concerted efforts of the members. She complimented Prof. Sadhana Sharma for organizing an excellent meeting.
- 2. The minutes of the 12th Annual Meeting of the Academy held on **4.03.2023 at 5.00 p.m., at NIMHANS**, Bengaluru were presented. Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi proposed that they may be accepted and confirmed, his proposal was seconded by Prof. BSS Rao and Prof. Sadhana Sharma. The minutes were thereafter unanimously approved and confirmed by the members.
- 3. Prof. Hari Sharma, the Founder President, in his remarks appreciated the progress made by the Academy and expressed satisfaction with regard to the growth achieved during last few years.
- 4. Secretary General in his report briefed the Hon'ble members about the progress made by the academy during the year under report:
 - a) He informed the Hon'ble members that since last general body meeting, Thirty-Seven new life members have joined the Academy. Now total life members are 400 (till date).
 - b) He also informed the Hon'ble members that in the current year under report quite a large number of applications were received for various Academy Awards. He further stated that as usual the applications were initially screened by a committee and thereafter processed by the award committee and the recommendations of the awards committee were unanimously approved by the core committee. He informed the Hon'ble members that the recipients of the various Academy Awards for the year 2023 are as follows:
 - 1. Lifetime Achievement Award: Prof. Lalit M Srivastava, New Delhi
 - 2. Padma Shri Prof. Mahdi Hasan Award: Ajai Singh, Bhopal
 - 3. Prof. Sohail Ahmad Award: Prof. Jytodeep Kaur, Chandigarh
 - 4. Smt. Kusum Sharma Award: Dr. Ruchi Mishra Tiwari, Pune
 - 5. Shri. Om Prakash Sharma Award: Dr. Ramendra P. Pandey, Dehradun
 - 6. Mrs. Farha Deeba Haq Award: Dr. Sukhes Mukherjee, Bhopal
 - 7. Mrs. Abida Mahdi Award: Dr. Sanjay Yaday, Raebareli
 - 8. Dr. Shyam K. Narang Oration Award: Dr. N K Venkataramana, Bengaluru
 - 9. Justice Jagdish Sharan Mishra Award: Prof. Adarsh Kumar, New Delhi

Fellowship:

- 1. Prof. Subhrata Sinha, New Delhi (Honorary)
- 2. Prof. GK Pal, Patna (Honorary)
- 3. Prof. Surendra K Verma Puducherry
- 4. Dr Taruna Madan, Mumbai

- 5. Prof. Ranjit Guha, Patna
- 6. Dr. M. Raghavendra Rao, Hyderabad
- 7. Dr. Shivani Pandey, Lucknow
- 8. Dr. Zia Arshad, Lucknow
- 9. Dr. Shyam Prakash, New Delhi
- 10. Dr. Rajasekaran Namakkal-Soorappan, U.S.A

Members appreciated the efforts made by the Academy in appropriately recognizing the talent and approved the recommendations of the awards committee.

- c) Prof. Mahdi informed the Hon'ble members that first issue of the academy journal is coming soon. Prof Hari S Sharma requested the Hon'ble members for their help, support and cooperation and appealed to them to submit manuscripts to the journal to so that we can get indexing from Google Scholar, Scopus and other indexing bodies. Members welcomed the proposal and agreed to submit the manuscripts.
- d) Prof. Indu Verma proposed to start State /Zonal chapter of the academy. The members welcomed the proposal.
- e) Prof. Sadhna Sharma requested all Hon'ble members to encourage other colleagues to join the academy as life members. The members welcomed the proposal.
- f) The financial statement and balance sheets of the Academy were presented for the year 2022-2023. The members were also apprised about the current financial status of the Academy. Balance sheets were unanimously approved.
- g) Prof Jagat R Kanwar offered to organize the 13th Annual Conference of the Academy at AIIMS, Bhopal in February 2025. Hon'ble members welcomed the proposal and unanimously approved that the 13th Annual Conference of the Academy will be held at AIIMS, Bhopal in February 2025. Exact dates will be decided with the mutual consent of the organizers and office bearers of the Academy.

Any other matter with the permission of the chair:

- 1. Prof. Moinuddin suggested that each life member should submit one manuscript and make one life member. The members welcomed the proposal.
- Professor Jyotdeep Kaur suggested that the conference abstracts shall be published as a supplementary addition to the academy journal. The members welcomed the proposal.
- 3. At the end of the meeting, Prof. Savita Yadav, Vice President (New Delhi) handed over the charge of President, IABS to Prof. BSS Rao (Bengaluru). Members

congratulated Prof. Rao on assuming the charge of President and also put on

record the services rendered by Dr. AS Bhatia in promoting the Academy and for

introducing large number of new Life Members to the Academy.

4. After assuming the charge of President, IABS, Prof. Rao thanked the Hon'ble

members for electing him the President and sought cooperation from all to take

the Academy to newer heights.

5. Prof. Mahdi moved a resolution, which was unanimously approved by the Hon'ble

Members, to commend the host institution including Hon'ble Director, Dean, Prof.

Dr. Sadhana Sharma (Organizing Chairperson) and her team comprising of Dr.

Mala Mahto (Organizing Secretary), Dr. Meenakshi Sharma and others including

the student volunteers for organizing an excellent academic feast at AIIMS, Patna.

Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(Prof. Abbas Ali Mahdi)

Secretary - General, IABS

(Prof. B.S.S. Rao)

President, IABS

Date: 24 February, 2024

4